Marine Field Band info?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Myshilohmy, Nov 13, 2012.

1. Myshilohmy

Myshilohmy Pianissimo User

Jan 6, 2009
    Indiana
    So I'm in a bit of a dilemma here. I've been pondering this for years, but it's been nagging at me especially hard these past few weeks. I want to join the Marines. I'm probably going to join no matter what, but as a musician, I have been told if you make it in one of the Marine bands you are basically set for life (anyone care to confirm or deny this?) I try to live by what my high school band director said, "Never go through life thinking to yourself "I should have done this"". Those words convinced me to march 2 years (about to be my 3rd and last) year of drum corps, which I don't regret.

My situation is that I hear the competition is insane. My teacher played in the Air Force band for several years, and believes it is not out of my reach (he is also a very nice guy, I'm not sure if he would tell me anyways if I wasn't good enough). I'm currently about to finish my second semester of college as a music performance major, and I've been asking everyone for advice. I know I don't need a degree to perform anywhere, and if I make it in a Marine Band I'm set for a while. And if I don't make a Marine band, I still get to spend at least 4 years of my life with the world's greatest military force. Currently my plan is if I drop out now, join the Marines (and hopefully Marine band) then good, but if I don't make it I would not start school again for music, I would study law enforcement to become a police officer (hopefully being a Marine would look good on my resume with no degree? Not sure about that one.) I love protecting people and busting criminals probably close to as much as I love music.