maybe the old way was better???

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Dave Mickley, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Dave Mickley

Dave Mickley Forte User

Nov 11, 2005
    Indianapolis
    I have been playing in big bands around Indy since 1981, usually 3rd or 4th part with a few lead charts thrown in to help out the lead player from time to time. A couple of years ago I was invited to sub on the 2nd part in a big band made up of old guys who want to have fun. most played in the 50s, 60s and 70s and are decent players, I'm the young guy at 62. I was asked to play full time after about the 2nd. reh. and soon after was asked to split the lead book. after about a month they put me on the lead book full time, I'm not a lead player but enjoy the book. they have been getting new charts that put me out of my comfort zone, I'm good for a few high Cs and a high D or two but now the charts are consistantly G up to Eb above high C. I started working on my upper register but things seem to be working backwards, I'm losing endurance. I've been using the Thiecke method and the upper register out of the 1st Vizzutti book. When I was just doing long tones and the tech. studies in the Viz. book I had more endurance, think I need to go back to that and leave the high registar practice alone. anyone else ever experience this??
    p.s. I love playing my Chicago Benge but I seem to have more endurance with my Blessing

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    you could just decline the offer and stay on 2nd.

3. SteveRicks

SteveRicks Fortissimo User

Aug 15, 2009
    Alabama
    Apparently they think a lot of you if they have moved you to first and keep increasing the difficulty of charts. Why not tell them you are getting out of your comfort zone and see if they might let someone else to cover the lead book on just a couple charts (make sure they get the highest stuff so they can understand where you a coming from).