Memorial Day thoughts

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Manny Laureano, May 30, 2005.

1. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Hi, everyone.

I've just returned from doing something I've never done before. If you can velieve it, I'm ashamed to admit to you that I've never been to a memorial Day service until today. I can only blame myself for not having done so, I won't blame society for not instilling the motivation, blah, blah, blah. It was thoughtlessness, I think, pure and simple.

Well, I took care of that today and took my 2 children, 14 and 10, boy and girl, to a service at Jewish cemetery for Jewish Minnesotans that have died this past year. It started with the raising of the flag to the tune the corresponding bugle call. We sang the National Anthem and were welcomed by the head of the cemetery.

A speech in memoriam was given by a Ukranian Colonel from the Russian Army, an 80 year-old veteran who fought with the Americans after his house was bombed and destroyed by the Nazis. The speech was entirely in Russian and as you looked around at the people gathered and heard the occasional conversation you realized you were surrounded by many, many Jews who had found their way to this country to escape the oppression they faced in the Soviet Union long ago.

This colonel was, ironically, an acclaimed scientist whose main work was in radar technology which means, for all intents and purposes, he was once the cold war "enemy". In 1996 he left Russia for the States and is now a proud American citizen. In his speech, I learned later, he spoke about the war against the anti-semitic fascists and how Jews must continue the fight against fundamentalist terrorists that would destroy Jewry all over the world. He honored a young Russian Jew who emigrated here and died two years ago in Afghanistan fighting the terrorists who was buried in that cemetery.