Memorization / Cheating

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tgl, Aug 4, 2010.

Tags:
  1. tgl

tgl New Friend

Aug 4, 2010
    Dallas
    Hello Everyone!

This is just a hypothetical situation at the moment but…

What does a person do who wants to be a professional brass musician in a small group but has trouble memorizing music?

I’ve “Googled” around the Internet looking for suggestions other than using a music stand, which I’m told is pretty much taboo for pros.

2. AKtrumpet

AKtrumpet Piano User

Jun 4, 2010
    Alaska
    Personally I just memorize the riff or ostinato depending on the genre of music of a specific song and generally speaking that'll allow me to fill the gaps. Memorization is a much more simple matter in Jazz than in Classical because often times you're allowed to "change things up a bit".

That's just my take, I am NOT a professional musician.

In fact I'm a high school student!

(and I tend to mention this often in my posts because I dont want
    people to take consideration of my posts over some of the more knowledgeable people on this forum.)

Hope that helps! ;-)

3. JazzGod

JazzGod New Friend

Aug 4, 2010
    I'm not pro but I find it easy to listen to something and if your trying to memorize it only look at the music once or twice try to break it apart piece by piece.

4. Trumpet Playa

Trumpet Playa New Friend

Aug 4, 2010
    If only you were in marching band, this would be a problem...lol.

Just kidding. But seriously, in marching band they teach you how to remember all that music. Take the music apart, and repetition is the key. Practice a few measures and remember. Then do the other measures and remember,. Repeat alot. In no time you'll remember the whole song.

5. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Keep in mind that ALL trumpet playing is done by ear. That is, even when you are reading the notes, you must go through these steps (this is explained in slow-motion, of course):