Missing notes in a passage

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Brent McBugler, Feb 14, 2014.

1. Brent McBugler

Brent McBugler New Friend

Nov 27, 2013
    Virginia
    Well, I am new to these forums, so this is my first post. I noticed sometimes when playing notes in a passage (scales, Clarke Studies, music) occasionally I will miss playing a note, like my lips stop buzzing and I get the sound of plain air through my horn. This doesn't happen all the time, but when it does it is rather annoying, and noticeable, it particularly happens in the morning. I also am constantly thinking about my embouchure as to not use pressure when going higher and also to make sure that I am not rolling my bottom lip under the top or pushing my chin up. I have been playing for 7 years and am a senior in high school, playing for my wind ensemble, concert band, and church orchestra on a regular basis.

I think it may have to do with tonguing, because sometimes when starting to play a note, it feels like my tongue is cutting off the air flow and I don't get a clean attack every time, again, this does not happen all the time, but more often than I would like.

I really would like to know how perhaps my embouchure is messed up and how I can make sure to keep my lips buzzing throughout phrases without missing notes.

Last edited: Feb 14, 2014
  2. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    Could I ask two questions, do you have a private tutor and are you playing the scales etc sotto vocce

3. Cornyandy

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    Sorry and is the missed note at the begining of the excercise or in the middle

4. Brent McBugler

Nov 27, 2013
    Virginia