Monette sound concept: a dichotomy in views by trumpeters vs everyone else

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RichJ, Aug 3, 2010.

1. RichJ

RichJ Piano User

Jan 16, 2008
    Northern Virginia
    I've been an amateur Monette player since the late 80s and have noticed a pattern in the way different listeners perceive the Monette sound. Most trumpet players seem to prefer the sound of a Bach or other "conventional" horn to a Monette. Conversely, most other non-trumpet playing musicians (including numerous orchestra conductors) and lay people who have been given the opportunity to hear me play both back to back prefer the Monette. Trumpet players comment that the Monette sound is either too bright or too dark and not centered enough. Non trumpet players say the Monette sounds fuller, clearer and warmer.

Any other Monette players notice this dichotomy?

Tbere are obviously exceptions both ways, but this is what I've seen over the many years I've been playing Monettes (classical music only).

Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  2. CHAMP

CHAMP Piano User

Nov 16, 2005
    monettes are good at covering up problems in players who aren't pros...hence the reason many non-trumpet players prefer the sound of a monette in the hands of a non-pro...

3. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California
    Are they more mellow? That would answer it, the vast majority of the public LOVES the French horn.

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    There IS no dichotomy. The truth is that the audience, when they listen with their ears could care less what the brand is. They care what the player does. The sound of the trumpet has to be everything from flamethrower to thundershower to a romantic sunset. The player learns to coax that stuff out of the horn - regardless of brand.