Motivating a student- help teachers!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet1Ohio, Jun 16, 2008.

1. Trumpet1Ohio

Trumpet1Ohio Piano User

Jun 22, 2005
    Columbus, OH
    I am a trumpet teacher and the father of a 15 yr old girl that also plays the horn. She's very good, but doesn't know it! She's relatively shy and definitely doesn't like to play in front of the band director or even me. Consequently she doesn't do nearly as well on tryouts as she could/should. Also, she won't listen to my advice or encouragement. I tell her how great she sounds, how the only thing holding her back is air and confidence. I'm sad that she can't or won't come out of her playing shell because there's so much bound up talent it's flat out sickening. I teach about 12 or so kids out of my house and have for years so I have something to compare her to. Does anyone have any suggestions of things I might say or do to help her. BTW, she was 2nd chair in the freshman band last year, plays first part in HS marching band, so, despite her timidity she's still doing reasonably well. Last item, she sings and plays piano at recitals, although not thrilled about it, does well. More her passion than the horn.

Thanks for any ideas you may have.

Firestas'1 likes this.
  2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    I used to teach horn, along with trumpet, in Germany. I had a drop-dead beautiful red-haired fifteen-year-old hornist who always said "I can't play that," and then did, perfectly, each time. I think I know where you are coming from.

It seemed almost like a defense mechanism, like she didn't want to "show off" or be "better" than anyone else.

Weird.

As trumpeters we are generally into the "I'm better than you!!!!" mentality, but gifted musicians (and it sounds like your daughter is one!) are more into the "what's the big deal?" mentality, play the heck out of stuff, and shrug their shoulders.

Weird.