Mouthpiece advice needed for Courtois flugel

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by Groove Merchant, Apr 7, 2005.

1. Groove Merchant

Groove Merchant New Friend

Mar 1, 2005
    Arizona
    Please direct me to the correct thread if this issue has already been addressed elsewhere. I looked but could not find anything on topic.

Although I have been playing trumpet for many years, I've only now purchased my first flugel, a used Courtois 154G (large bell). I find the stock mouthpiece to be small for my preference and would like to get something larger that will contribute to as warm a sound as possible. This will be primarily used in jazz combo and big band section settings; however, I also do brass quintet work. I use a Bach 1B (22 throat, s2 backbore, "Ch" rim) for 95% of my trumpet playing so am comfortable with a large mouthpiece. That being said, I don't want a large flugel mouthpiece just because it is large, I want one with the best sound.

The advice of anyone who has experimented with mouthpieces on a Courtois flugel is greatly appreciated.

Jack

2. ImprovBeast

ImprovBeast New Friend

Nov 24, 2003
    That's easy man! Try the Courtois 1 1/2c. It's my fravorite peice for any flugel it'll fit in. I say that because the shank is really small and will only fit in french tapered receivers.

Hope that helps.

Mario

3. alanbach

alanbach Pianissimo User

Dec 10, 2003
    South Wales U.K.
    If it's any help, Joanne Dean flugelhorn with the Buy As You View Brass Band and Helen Fox flugelhorn with Fodens Brass Band, two of the top brass bands in the UK http://www.4barsrest.com/rankings/default.asp both play Antoine Courtois flugels and both of them use Denis Wick 4FL mouthpieces....beautiful sounds are produced by each one of them.

4. Groove Merchant

Groove Merchant New Friend

Mar 1, 2005
    Arizona
    Reviving this post and looking for some clarification on a few things: