Mouthpiece placement

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by WarrenG, Nov 4, 2010.

1. WarrenG

WarrenG New Friend

Nov 2, 2010
    Hi all

I've got a bit of a problem, and its going to be a bigger problem since I don't have a tutor.

My mouthpiece placement on my lips is as per below. Off-centre and most of the mouthpiece is on my bottom lip. (yes, those little red blocks are my lips) :-)
    [​IMG]

Am I headed for disaster here?

If its goign to hamper me in the future then I'd best move my mouthpiece into the "right" position and suffer now right?

Any thoughts?

Warren

2. drmalbak

drmalbak New Friend

Aug 6, 2010
    Poole,Dorset,UK
    Thoughts, er yes. Keep the mouthpiece , get new lips :: but I'm no expert ~~~~~~

3. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    If you think its a potential problem then its a problem, right?
    Here's what I recommend:
    Purse your lips as if you are blowing out a candle. Nothing fancy, just a typical blowing out of a candle. Now blow.
    Next, do the same thing and put the trumpet to the lips.
    That's your embrochure.
    Remember, only use enough mouthpiece pressure to create a seal with the lips.
    You might want to read Mouthpiece Pressure Assessment.
    Hope this helps.

4. WarrenG

WarrenG New Friend

Nov 2, 2010
    To change embrochure or not to change..I need a good tutor...

5. lou gonzalez

lou gonzalez New Friend

Feb 18, 2009
    henderson nv
    35 yrs ago, a greatn trpt plyr who went out w/raycharles (for life almost) ran into claude gordon/this cat played way way down on the red meaty part of his upper lip, had gone to 5 or 8 great teachers, all of whom told him to "just reposition the mp, form an embouchure and blow. every time he would make some progress, and develop a thin, raspy, inflexible set of great lookin' chops-useless for work. a few months later, he was back at the beginning, frustrated.