Mouthpiece Pressure..?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by VarsityTpt, Oct 11, 2009.

1. VarsityTpt

VarsityTpt New Friend

Oct 11, 2009
    I've read quite a few threads on here about mouthpiece pressure, but I have some questions of my own regarding specifically the pressure I apply to my upper lip. My private lessons teacher has given me some warm-up sheets that are supposed to help me reduce the pressure and such. In the warm-up, I am to keep the horn on my face at all times, no adjusting the embouchure or moving the horn. I can only relax the embouchure.

Although I've only been doing these warm-ups for a few weeks, and I'm sure it'll take more time to show more improvement, I wanted to know how bad the amount of pressure I am applying is.

I'm a sophomore in HS, and first chair in the second-to-top band in the school.My range, on my best days, goes up to high E above the staff, but I consistantly get to high C and usually high D.

Here are the pictures to shopw the pressure I apply:
    Low C below the staff: low C picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    G on the staff: G picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    C on the staff: C picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    G above staff: G above staff picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    high C above: high C above staff picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    I have a couple notes above that, but just look in the album for those.

Also, I was wondering if braces would possibly help with this at all? And is the formation of my teeth fine for trumpet playing?
    upper teeth: upper teeth picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    lower teeth:lower teeth picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket
    smile: smile picture by VarsityTpt - Photobucket

sorrythis is kinda long.. I just really want to know this stuff because it's beginning to get on my nerves a bit.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany