Mouthpiece Troubles

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by Matt G, Mar 2, 2005.

1. Matt G

Matt G New Friend

Feb 17, 2005
    Iowa
    I've been playing for about seven years now and have recently started to find the mouthpiece thats right for me, but frankly im just baffled. I think my main problem is I just don't know what to look for when trying out a mouthpiece, because I simply cant tell the differance between one size and another. I know that I want a Monette, but once again they all feel the same. So any advice that anybodies willing to give would be great.

2. R.A.S.

R.A.S. Pianissimo User

Oct 13, 2004
    Woodbury, Minnesota
    Could you start by telling us about the experiences you've had with certain mouthpiece sizes in the past?
    Anything you liked?
    If not, was something close in some way?
    What kind of playing to you do (or want to do)?

3. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    Contact Bruce Lee at Northernbrass.com .

4. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Matt,

What kind of room are you in when you compare the mouthpieces? Are you in a lively room with reasonable acoustics or are you in a rug-incased practice room or siome such other small room. I'm at a loss as to how you can't hear the differences between two mouthpieces that are substantially different. Or are we talking about mouthpieces that have very subtle differences?

Can you provide a bit more info?

ML

5. Matt G

Matt G New Friend

Feb 17, 2005
    Iowa