Mouthpieces? Discussion please.

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by jamiefoxer, Jul 11, 2005.

1. jamiefoxer

jamiefoxer New Friend

Jul 11, 2005
    I'm a newbie to trumpeting. About to start lessons.

I wanted to know, what are some good types of mouthpieces, which are good for what styles, which are "all purpose", and if there are some that are easier to play on. Basically, my new trumpet doesn't have a mouthpiece with it, so I was wondering what I should go for.

I plan to use the trumpet to (in the future) become a pro trumpeter, so I'd like to buy a professional grade mouthpiece (not a student model).

Can anyone help?

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    My advice to you is to use one of the following mouthpieces, whichever is most comfortable: Bach 7C, 5C or 3C. If you are a newbie, you don't need to look any further than those three.

Also, while I admire your enthusiasm, if you are truly new to playing, don't you think that it might be just a bit presumptuous, putting the cart in front of the horse so to speak, to plan on being a pro trumpet player at this stage of the game? Some of us have been at it quite a long time and are not "pros". What I'm trying to say is that while hard work will take you a long way toward that goal, you are also going to have to have a certain amount of inate ability, ie talent, to leverage toward that goal. It isn't something that just happens as a natural progression of playing and practicing. Most people will have to overcome a roadblock or two (or five or six!) before attaining the level of proficiency to play at a pro level. For some, it's range, for others, it fingers, and for others, it might be a sound issue. Sometimes hard work alone is enough to overcome the limitation, but in some cases, the issue has to be looked into from different angles and sometimes a whole new approach is necessary in order to overcome whatever playing obstacle is in front of you.