Moving mini disc recordings to hard drive.

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by dizforprez, Jan 18, 2006.

1. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    I am new to the whole mini disc thing and am having trouble getting a recorded recital to my hard drive. I have lost the instruction manual and was hoping some one could guide me through the process here online. :?:

Thanks!

2. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    Diz... the USB cord that came with your MD is only good for "downloading" from the computer to the MD. You'll need a 1/8-1/8 patch cord to "upload" into the "Line input" jack on the back of your soundcard. There should be some software already in the computer to record the infeed as a .wav file. If you have a Soundblaster card, then the "Creative" software does a really nice job of inputting and recording.

Once you've got the stuff in your computer there are a couple of shareware apps floating around that can convert to an mp3. When I was using a MD (still have it but don't use it now that I've got a Zen 20 gig) I could use the ROXIO Platinum software that I purchased and installed.

Edit: forgot...you plug the patch cord in where the earphones would go. You may have to crank the volume up. While you're uploading you can "monitor" through the computer speakers. You may have to go to "Sounds" in your "Control Panel" to enable the line in and disable the mic in. Make sure you pick the line in jack and not the mic jack on the soundcard.

3. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    thanks toots,

so there is no way to do it in realplayer or wmp? I will give what you suggust a try once i get the cord I need.

thanks! :-)

4. Alex Yates

Alex Yates Forte User

Aug 11, 2005
    Atlanta, GA