Music Institute Of Hard Knocks

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bachstul, Apr 19, 2009.

1. Bachstul

Bachstul Mezzo Forte User

Jan 25, 2009
    Have you had many valuable private instructions from various teachers? Or; Are you from the self taught school of hard knocks?????? (pre-high school instruction doesn't count in this evaluation)

How strongly do you recommend a private instructor?

Fair hourly Rate?

How shall you express to the reader how much one can learn on their own with all the audio accompaniment tutorials available today?

Do you wish to express much practice can be learned on ones' own?

2. tunefultrumpet

tunefultrumpet Pianissimo User

Apr 9, 2008
    New Zealand
    I had 2 great private teachers for 10 years, one when I was a high school student and one when I was a university student. Both gave me great fundamentals and enough knowledge that 20 years later, I still draw on it to improve my playing. I couldn't justify the expense of lessons from a teacher these days. I get useful prods and reminders, though, from information on forums such as these and elsewhere on the internet. Also from other musicians who politely point things out about my playing from time to time, like the way I still tend to articulate jazz lines with a classical tonguing style.:oops:

Bachstul likes this.
  3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The successful player needs both!

A structured method of building habits with good ears and eyes monitoring the progress and eliminating bad practices before they become habits as well as an intense curiosity that carries the player far beyond the scope of another individual or teacher. One day a week does not turn a player into a monster. One day a week can turn the monster into an artist.