Music on next trip to Puerto Rico . . .

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Venturion, Jan 10, 2007.

1. Venturion

Venturion New Friend

Aug 24, 2005
    New Jersey, USA
    Hi Manny,

Just got back from a quick trip to PR, had never been there before. What a fabulous place, what little I did see. Just made me want to go back for more.

For musical nourishment, the highlight was a night of the utterly WORLDCLASS jazz piano of Carli Munoz at his restaurant in Old San Juan. As a pianist myself, I was totally impressed and mesmerized by his deft, intuitive, surprising yet apt renditions of a number of standards and other more obscure tunes. He played a reflective version, with all manner of exquisite harmonic subtleties, of the chestnut Cielito Lindo. It just about brought tears to my eyes, it was that great. He has transmuted the Bill Evans tradition into a unique cross-pollination with the deep undercurrents of Carribbean rhythms, brilliantly.

The other musical highlight was a lesson in humility: We were at a Mexican restaurant when a Mariachi band showed up to play (consisting of violin, trumpet, guitar and a much larger guitar used as a bass). They certainly looked and sounded authentic to me (but what do I know). In any case, the more I listened to them, forgetting about their odd costumes, I felt the heartfelt power of their songs, particularly while they were being sung. They were seriously giving the best of their hearts. I requested Besame Mucho, a tune I play regularly on my gigs, and one that Carli Munoz had played the night before at his restaurant. They did it in a simple, stately tempo, and the vocalist (bigguitarist) sang like it was the last song he'd be singing in this world. I don't think they were faking it. Again, almost a tear-inducing event.
    This, amidst the clamor and bustle of a busy restaurant. Go figure.