Musical Instinct

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by (Trumpet)(2009), Jan 28, 2007.

1. (Trumpet)(2009)

(Trumpet)(2009) New Friend

Jan 1, 2007
    Hello,

I am a sophomore in high school, I have been playing Trumpet for almost two years. I have noticed that as I progress in my knowledge of theory (although it is still very limited, it is progressing) and my abilities as a Trumpet player, my musicality has dropped greatly. When I was a beginner, musicality was something that came very naturally to me. I didn't have to think about, it just came. Most of the time, I was unaware of what I was doing with the notes, I just knew what to do, there was no thought involved. I was a better musician then. I am far better a Trumpet player now, but I was a better musician when was a beginner. Although musicality is still very important to me and I strive to make music in every phrase, every note, it is no longer second nature. I have to think through it. It has become more of a black and white, systematical, if this is written, do this with it, approach. And once I have decided what to do with the music, I then go through how I can physically make that happen, whereas before, I just knew what it should sound like, and I played that. Everything was so simple.

My goal is to get out of this analytical, physical mindset. I have a very good musical instinct, and I think I should use that to my advantage. I think part of it needs to come from building confidence in my playing as well. I have become afraid of going with my instinct and instead I do nothing.

Does anyone have any advice as to how I can change the way I think concerning these things? Any thoughts?

Thanks.

2. trumpethack

trumpethack Pianissimo User

Jun 1, 2006
    Massachusetts