Muteless in Oregon

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by turtlejimmy, Jun 23, 2010.

1. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Note: I'm posting this thread here (rather than MPs, mutes, etc) because I think more people will see it.:whistle:

When I started playing trumpet (4-5 mo. ago) I thought that EVERY TRUMPET MUTE FIT EVERY TRUMPET.

This is NOT TRUE.

e.g. ...... I just bought a 1937 King Liberty (large bore) and, VIOLA, 4 out of 5 mutes not only don't fit, they don't even touch ANY cork. :dontknow:

Upon investigation we see that the shapes of the bells are TOTALLY DIFFERENT. Wow, guess I'm going to have to take this Liberty with me to the store if I want another mute for it. It came with one that fits but frankly looks more like a marine buoy than a trumpet accessory (and sounds pretty awful).

Is this common with older trumpets???

The Turtle

1937 King Liberty 3B
    Eastman 420g
    Denis Wick MM1C
    Curry 1TF

2. lakerjazz

lakerjazz Mezzo Piano User

Oct 10, 2006
    Those liberties have very small bells. I think the mute thing is only a problem with those really early, pea-shooter type horns.

EDIT: My friend that has a Liberty told me that his sink plunger covers the whole bell- if this is the case with your horn, I'm not sure what to say. Though I think that they do have available those tiny versions of the standard mutes: Amazon.com: Harmon Harmon Straight Trumpet Mute G-1: Musical Instruments

These are quite small- they might work

Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
  3. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands
    are you sure it isn't a flugelhorn?
    Is the bell too big, or too small?

4. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon