My Buzz is Gone :(

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by GideonRichter, Nov 12, 2011.

1. GideonRichter

GideonRichter New Friend

Oct 23, 2011
    Hello.
    I've been playing for about 4 years now, and recently i feel as though i cant play for very long playing through concerts ( I have to cut back on my playing and even take breaks to conserve for My solo [Remembrance day])
    You know how when you learned to play and all the guide i find, it's start with just your lips buzzing...right? Well, When i first joined band.... I could do that.
    Now when ever I do it it either is just air, or something just out of this world.
    I'am not quite sure what to do now, no i don't have a trumpet teacher.

2. GideonRichter

GideonRichter New Friend

Oct 23, 2011
    Hellooooo! :)

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Patience!
    There are many users in many different time zones, so you'll have to wait to get a wide variety of responses

My suggestion is to outright stop playing for a few days if possible. Then, starting slowly, build back up (say 10 minutes the first day, 20 the second, etc.) never pushing yourself to the point where you can't play

In practices you should never push yourself to the point where you can't play. As soon as your sound, range, or articulation go as a result of fatigue. Stop playing (maybe do a little cool-down). You should make yourself tired, but without running farther than you can. Sustainable practice should be the goal

4. coolerdave

coolerdave Utimate User

Nov 7, 2009
    San Pedro
    I would highly recommend the book
    Low Tone exercises Patterns and Etudes for Trumpet by Mark Ponzo
    hard to say what is happening but it sounds like your chops are very tight and perhaps you have alot of tension
    Rowuk has mentioned about the circle of breathing (? I think it's called)
    breath in ... breath out ..breath in..play.

5. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio