My First Post on TM: My Intro.

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Dr. Stu, Sep 24, 2005.

1. Dr. Stu

Dr. Stu New Friend

Sep 24, 2005
    New York, NY
    This is my first post here on TM, I have just joined here from the other site, which I still like, but it seems a bit more respectful here.

I'm an amateur, comeback player, about 15 months into my comeback after playing (alot) from 8 yrs old, all the way through Grad school & beyond, (a total of about 18 years), before putting the horn down... for about 17 years. :(

I always played lead, always the youngest in my chair/position (in school), though I can't improvise to save my life, and I used to be told I had some "chops". I played in stage bands, show bands (in school & in some summer productions) school orchestras, jazz ensembles, marching band, pep/rally bands, etc., so, I used to be able to play and sometimes feel I can give advice about some things, though I have never played a note as a professional.

I still practice on my own (yes, I know I need a good teacher), I was lucky enough that my music/band directors from 3rd grade through H.S. were all trumpet players, & I "took private" until I started college and made the mistake of stopping private lessons freshman year because I didn't feel I had enough time to put into practicing (which, in fact, I probably actually didn't).

I have a couple of nice horns, which I love, know a bit about equipment & vintage stuff, especially Olds' and Bach's and only try to give advice when I think I have a clue myself.

Looking forward to a nice stay here, (though I sometimes don't have alot of time to post (today is not one of those times Very Happy ).

-Stu

p.s. I inadvertantly posted this in the vintage horns/cornets forum, so I reposted it here.

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    Stu, welcome aboard! We're glad to have you! :-)