My trip to ITG

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by B15M, Jun 2, 2007.

1. B15M

B15M Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Monroe Ct.
    I never understood what ITG is.
    I was very impressed in my two days there.
    I am not a member, but I think I am going to join.
    The whole idea of bringing trumpet players together in a venue like this is great. When I was a student, if I could have attended one of these conferences I'm sure that I would be working in the music industry today.

The first thing I went to was the Maynard tribute. It was done differently then I expected but a really nice thing. I made some friends that I probably will never see again and it was nice.

After that I walked around and tried some trumpets and went to the Monette booth and tried some trumpets. While at Monette I was introduced to Patrick Hession and I talked with him for a while and listened to him play. I was very impressed that he could play in the low register and go up higher then I thought I could hear. I think he was playing triple high G. The next day I heard him playing legit things. It's kind of incredible. Later that night he was a guest with a big band. Outstanding job. I drove up that day and it was getting too late for me so I had to leave at half time. I heard the next day that I missed a really good second half.

(Going back to the afternoon) Next for me was going to a talk with Manny. I heard a couple of new ideas for me and some great playing. Manny talked about a way of teaching, putting numbers over the notes to say how much to lean or back off of each note. I think it's a great idea. That was a big one for me in future learning and teaching.