My wild thing report

Discussion in 'Horns' started by camel lips, Apr 19, 2004.

1. camel lips

camel lips New Friend

Feb 16, 2004
    I have been researching and looking at new trumpets for several months now. Some of you have seen the reviews I have posted about Getzens,Conn’s and Yamaha.

As luck would have it a friend of mine just received a Flip oaks wild thing in silver-plate and was willing to let me take it out for a test spin.

First of all this horn has one of the best cases on the market. It’s beautiful and very functional.

The fit and the finish on the horn were outstanding. This is my first experience with the upper end Kanstul valve casings and they were smooth as silk. Very responsive.

This horn came with ALL of the slides available for the wild thing. After playing each one for about 20 min I found that I like the standard #1 configuration the best. It seems to have the best tone to it and it slotted best for me.That is strange because according to the literature it is the most open slide.The number #3 slide was my second favorite.

This horn had both a #2 and a #J2 slide with it.I figured out what the differance is.One is standard and the other is Jazz.

I spent about 4 hours practicing with it the first day I got it and was pleased with the intonation. Sitting down with the horn and a Korg tuner going up and down chromatically from c there was very minor variances in the tone. The horn for the most part played very centered and had a nice warm dark tone to it.

This is only the second big bore horn I have played. I did find that it took less air to control this horn. You really had to hold back some or the thing would get away from you.