Nasty sound has me worried

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by timleona, Feb 19, 2008.

1. timleona

timleona New Friend

Jan 9, 2008
    I've been back playing trumpet for about a month and a half now after a 40 year break. I've been playing trombone for about 2 years. I notice in the last few days that although my range is increasing, my sound quickly turns to something like it would sound playing through a radio with bad reception. Like a secondary almost rattle from my lips. I'm hitting the notes but they aren't clean. As an aside, I don't get this sound on the trombone.

I'm trying to spend time just buzzing through the mpc listening for a clean sound but are there any other things I should do to lose this nasty secondary sound?

Thanks much!!

Tim

2. Eeviac

Eeviac Piano User

As you go up in range? I have that too - I think it's called Beginneritus!

3. clousemiester

clousemiester Pianissimo User

Jun 10, 2007
    Boca Raton
    I remeber experiencing a growling kind of sound from a friend of mine years ago, while he was developing upper register. He was working one of the early Jerome Callet studies. Don't remember which one. As he continued on the growl disappeared, yet he was able to bring it back on demand later. He could accually control it. It was really bluesy sounding. Very Cool. The upper register went to a strong, fat Double C. Not bad for a high school player back in '69.

Possibly you need a mouthpiece adjustment.

4. Jimi Michiel

Jimi Michiel Forte User

Mar 22, 2005
    Boston
    Tim-

Are you continuing to play trombone while you pick up the trumpet? I'm not sure of the mechanics, but I doubled on baritone for a semester in high school and I remember thinking, "man, this is NOT good for the trumpet chops." I think in general, the more things you ask your lips to do, the greater chance you have of something weird happening.

-Jimi

5. clousemiester

clousemiester Pianissimo User

Jun 10, 2007
    Boca Raton