NATURAL TRUMPET PLAYING

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rowuk, Jul 1, 2006.

1. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Hi Folks,
    I am new to trumpetmaster, but not so new to the "historical instrument" scene. I play a self made long natural trumpet(only one hole for F and A) and a Munkwitz short three hole model. I practice mostly without the holes. It demands more control from my face, but makes my sense of intonation much more accurate on all of my other instruments. In concert, I always use the holes. The modern listener doesn't generally appreciate the pre "well tempered" pitch. Lipping everything up and down for modern pitch/intervals in a concert changes the sound as much as using the holes does, so I prefer the security.
    Any advice that I would give to people just starting:
    1) do not use a modern type mouthpiece, get a copy of an original with a sharp rim
    2) do not take on jobs for the first 6 months
    3) practice alot of slurs and lip trills, then tongued intervals
    4) do not play more loudly than mf for the first 6 months
    5) just like modern trumpet, start slowly - accuracy develops the correct memory patterns that will benefit you in the future. In the beginning, you have NOTHING to prove!
    easy pieces for the beginner - there is a whole collection of short sonatas by Fantini

2. rowuk

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    somehow this landed where it doesn't belong. I must have done something wrong - thought that I clicked on post reply.................

3. gtromble

gtromble Pianissimo User

Dec 31, 2005
    Welcome to TM! That sounds like great advice for people starting out on natural trumpet. I've been interested in trying it for some time, but have stuck with the unnatural trumpet so far.

Galen

4. Liad Bar-EL

Liad Bar-EL Forte User

Oct 25, 2003
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Please explain......why does Natural trumpet playing have to be so different than modern trumpet playing?