Need Help Choosing A Trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Dupee, May 17, 2009.

1. Dupee

Dupee New Friend

May 17, 2009
    I've been playing a Getzen 700 series for a while now and I really like it. I made it to All-State band on it too. But, unfortunetly it's only and intermediate level trumpet. I found a Bach Strad made back in the 70's that I could possibly buy, but it would probably mean selling my Getzen to the store in order to get enough money. I'm not exactly sure what to do. I can either get an awesome Bach Strad, or keep the trumpet that I've been using for 4 years and have been great on.

Any advice?

2. Jurandr

Jurandr Pianissimo User

Feb 23, 2008
    Illinois
    If it aint broke, don't fix it.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Playing at the music store does not give the real picture about how a horn plays or sounds.

The only thing that you do not have at all-state with a Getzen 700 is bragging rights. The quality of the horn was good enough to qualify though.

NO IMPULSIVE CHANGES. If you are looking for a better instrument, then spend some time playing and comparing.

4. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    Save the Getzen and work hard during the summer to save up for the Bach you want. You may be able to get your parents to help you if you're short a few dollars if they see you work hard and show dedication.

5. erd402

erd402 Pianissimo User

Mar 21, 2009
    West Virginia
    Exactly what I would do. Mainly because thats what I'm doing. I just submitted an application to McDonalds a couple of days ago :D
    If it works well for you, don't sell it. I play a student model trumpet but it works well for me so I wouldn't even consider selling it at this time. I'd much rather work over the summer and buy a new horn and keep the other as backup.

6. Darthsunshine

Darthsunshine Mezzo Forte User

Jul 19, 2008
    Seattle, WA