need help finding some trumpet parts

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by wolfeking, May 13, 2012.

1. wolfeking

wolfeking Banned

Apr 2, 2011
    Madison, NC
    okay, So I tried to help a friend out by unsticking his main tuning slide and 3rd valve slides on his trumpet. Well I am not a engineer nor a repair technition, so I broke it. NO big deal, I told him the least I could do is to buy the parts to get it fixed. But I have no idea where to go to get them, nor part numbers to look for.
    Anyway, the horn is a Yamaha ytr4320st and the parts I need are the leadpipe and the main tuning slide.

Thanks in advance for any help you can be.

2. patkins

patkins Forte User

Nov 22, 2010
    Tuscaloosa, AL.
    They actually be reparable by a good trumpet tech if you have one close by. My tech can fix near anything and even make parts to fit. Most good techs can make them or order them from specific used parts store. The other option is to find a "parts not working model on eBay and let a tech switch them out.

3. wolfeking

wolfeking Banned

Apr 2, 2011
    Madison, NC
    well, I am 99% sure I broke them beyond repair. Its actually cracked to a point its leaking air at the crook.

the pic here should be able to show how its damaged I think.
    [​IMG]

4. patkins

patkins Forte User

Nov 22, 2010
    Tuscaloosa, AL.
    Yep. Pit your search on eBay for that model. Otherwise someone on here may have some parts laying around. Sorry this happens. Even trumpet techs aren't perfect.

5. wolfeking

wolfeking Banned

Apr 2, 2011
    Madison, NC
    All I am seeing on ebay is 2 good horns and a tune up kit.

Hmm.. Is there like a Yamaha parts store or something I might be able to look at?

6. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Go to a tech and get them to order the part. It is the fastest and easiest way.