Need help getting re-motivated!!(Long)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by guitarsrmine, Oct 26, 2010.

1. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa
    Hello everyone. I started playing trumpet again 2 year ago after not touching it for 25 years. When I got back into it, I down-loaded some excersises from the 'net, and bought an etude book to practice. Now I seem to have come to a "stand-still"-playing the same stuff day after day, I am dilligent on my tone work,which I feel is the most important aspect to my playing, and my endurance and range have improved, but it seems that Im just kinda stuck-not hearing any real advances in the last year. I realize I'll never have a career as a trumpet player(Im 50) but I would still like to be my beast whenever I actually get to play in public(I play guitar in my band, but we dont do any tunes that a horn would fit in, and since I play lead guitar, if I were to pick a trumpet oriented song, we couldnt do it) I just dont want to get frustrated to the point of giving up. Sorry this was long!! P.S. I may be going to the local coffee house Friday nite-just me and my horn !!:play:

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    try volunteering for some gigs. I suppose there are old folks homes. you could also volunteer for playing the national anthem for high school sports games. there are community bands -- I suspect if you started playing for other people -- you would be remotivated -- especially if you push the limits of your abilities -- and miss a note here and there --- that should motivate you to practice to be more proficient -- and to keep improving -- but that is just my opinion

3. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa