Need help with my Trumpet learning

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by misthosg, Mar 9, 2016.

1. misthosg

misthosg New Friend

Mar 20, 2015
    Hey all,

I am a Sophomore and High School and my main axe is Tuba. I have been playing for about 5 years now, and I am really loving Tuba.
    Since last year, I have been wanting to learn trumpet.
    Last year I bought a trumpet, and started to practice. But I have trouble when I practice, since I am coming from mouthpieces that are completely different in size, and I tend to see my lips swell on the trumpet, just practicing for a small bit. If you guys could give some tips for me that would be great!

Thanks so much for your help!

2. Greenshield

Greenshield New Friend

Dec 6, 2015
    Nebraska
    Are you using a lot of pressure against your lips when you play the trumpet?

3. BrassBandMajor

BrassBandMajor Fortissimo User

Jan 13, 2015
    London
    Don't pressure yourself my sir! I transit between P-bone and trumpet and french horn often and have no problem on all of them!

4. Dalecon

Dalecon New Friend

Feb 26, 2016
    Ottawa
    Really just a need to get used to the very different size of mouthpiece, different animals. I used to switch between baritone and trumpet, and is was ok, but they are very different.

5. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    I'm going to let you in on a little secret to how to be successful in learning to play an instrument:

Practice and work on it, every day.

That, and this bit of wisdom that I actually have hung on the wall in my practice room: Rome wasn't built in a day.

Translation: be diligent, but also be patient. Most of the time the results we seek with an instrument will not come in a matter of days, but rather it's a process of learning that takes weeks, months, and even years in some cases.