Need Help with Range for Pep Band

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Edvard22, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Edvard22

Edvard22 New Friend

Jun 28, 2010
    Hi all,

This year I'm an engineering freshman at Boston University and to take up my spare time and continue in music I decided to join the campus pep band and play at the hockey and basketball games on campus. So far it has been the most rewarding experience I've had at school, the highlight of which was playing at a sold out Madison Square Garden last weekend (BU may have destroyed Cornell at hockey, but everyone was there to hear the band right?). Anywho, transitioning from playing quiet and technical classical tunes to blasting out Shipping Up to Boston as loud as possible has been a little more difficult than I expected.

Bottom line? I'm comfortable up to a B above the staff, and I need to be comfortable up to an E above the staff. (please don't crucify me for using the wrong terminology here). If I try for anything above the B any one of three things will happen: 1. the trumpet says no and the note just doesn't happen, 2. I can hit the note for a second but it immediately goes flat and peters out, or 3. The note just cracks and instantly disappears.

If somehow it helps in diagnosing my problem, I noticed that oddly enough I seem to have better luck with my deeper mouthpiece (equivalent to about a 3B) than with the shallow mouthpiece I picked up to experiment with a while back (equivalent to about a 3D or 3E)