Need help with turns

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ChrisTP, Jan 30, 2008.

1. ChrisTP

ChrisTP New Friend

Oct 27, 2007
    Florida
    Okay, so im a sophomore in high school and about 2 weeks ago i picked up Hummel (Rondo) and its been going smoothly until i had an after school practice with my director. I found out I've been doing the section with a mess of turns completely wrong..I really never learned the concept of how to do a turn and my director didn't make it very clear.

What I need help with is maybe a video tutorial on how to do them or just a basic run through...I've listened to Wynton's version plenty of times..but he just makes it look easy and I really can't pick up what hes really doing.:dontknow:

2. TheChef

TheChef New Friend

Feb 15, 2007
    You can do full turns or mordants. I choose to do mordants, and it would just go C-D-C. The Arban book has many, many pages on ornaments.

And don't take it too fast. It doesn't have to go near the speed that Wynton takes it at on his great performances CD.

3. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    I think it's a little hard to explain without hearing it. See if you can find a recording online, of the piece you are working on. Also think of yourself as a harpsichord, I think that's where this embellishment started if I remember right. :)

4. trumpet_man

trumpet_man Piano User

Jan 17, 2008
    Wyoming