Need Some Advice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by lurch028, Jul 17, 2008.

1. lurch028

lurch028 New Friend

Jul 17, 2008
    Tennessee
    New here so forgive me if this is in the wrong section, but i believe this is the correct one... Anyways I've been playing the trumpet for about 8 years and now i'm in a colegiate band as well. I've always had a pretty good range and stamina but lately it seems I can only play well for a shorter amount of time before my lips get really tired and my range just dies. I still practice pretty regularly although not every day (it is summer afterall :) and I've tried everything from different lip slurs to playing exercises recommened by other trumpet players in my Arbans but nothing seems to help. Any ideas? Thanks.

2. brian moon

brian moon Forte User

Start with practicing every day.

3. lurch028

lurch028 New Friend

Jul 17, 2008
    Tennessee
    well I that I still practice pretty regularly... by that i mean about 5-6 days out of the week. I doubt the one more day would do me much good not to mention you need to give your lips a rest every now and then... i was really just wanting advice on how to make my lips last longer not "practice every day"

4. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    When practising, rest as much as you play - it's important too.

5. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    Maybe the music is harder so you need more practice not the same or less.

6. jazztrpt006

jazztrpt006 New Friend

Jul 16, 2008
    Wpg, Mb