Need you help for getting to high C from F

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by DiaxII, Sep 28, 2012.

1. DiaxII

DiaxII Pianissimo User

Oct 22, 2009
    E.Europe
    I'm going to ask you for the impossible but please take my question seriously. I need your help in teaching myself to get from the F on the top line to the high C. I know that's not just G, A, B, C, it's all the notes in between but I want to think about it as only four notes (which is incorrect but please bear with me).

Anyway, I just posted in another fresh self-study thread about my experience. Over the course of two years I studied trumpet on my own on and off. I now can hit the F on top of the stuff. I don't push myself, I use minimal MP pressure and I try to play relaxed as much as possible.

I don't remember how I got to F on the top line though I remember hardly hitting the middle G two years ago but also I don't remember what was in between. I remember that I tried to reach a little higher from time to time, when I felt it was possible. I don't know how I determined the exact moment but it worked... so far.

Now, when I got to the top line F about two months ago my progress stopped. It feels like I can play the F (not always in a stable relaxed manner but it comes out) but it feels like the G on top of the stuff is in another dimention. I've been trying to find the new moment to go for the G and every time I've been trying it over the course of last two months I failed.

I play D-F - it works, I try to play E-G and it simply locks up on G.

Any advice including 'find yourself a teacher' is appreciated :-)

Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  2. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas

You answered your own question.

3. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    Get a teacher, then diligently practice what they show you..
    you are wasting your time on your own... Seriously, two years and can't play a G?
    that is not a rip... Just sayin'...