needing a re-start

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by huser09, Aug 1, 2010.

1. huser09

huser09 New Friend

Aug 1, 2010
    Hello -- I'm a newbie to TrumpetMaster. It's great to have this community to turn to in my time of need.

I am a 52-year-old guy who has played trumpet since 7th grade, mostly for fun and church, but sometimes for pay as I've incorporated my horn into other musical settings. Recently I had some pretty major dental work done, including crowns on my two upper front teeth. They are structured the same as my original teeth, but I haven't tried to pick up my horn yet because I'm a little nervous.

Two questions:

1. Anyone out there with experience in this? Before I try to play again I want to make sure I'm not setting myself up for dental problems.

2. Can anyone recommend a method book or video lesson series I can use to rebuild my chops? I've never been a "serious" player, and although I have great tone and a great ear, my range is limited. I figure if I'm starting over I may as well do it right and begin a good practice routine to help me correct some of my bad habits from being a "ham and egg" player all these years.

I had the dental work done so I could save my teeth and keep playing. Now I need to get off my butt and do it. Thanks for your help and support.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Huser,
    I am not sure that a "new" start will help at all. The greatest levels of success that I have had with players with years under their belt has been through EVOLUTION, not REVOLUTION. That means get started right away and then address things like pressure and tension. Habits are really tough to beat - and perhaps not necessary at all.

What is necessary for sure is work on your breathing and all of the things that tie breathing to playing. A second area where you for sure need help is in body use.