Newbie Low notes

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lou765, Jul 20, 2010.

1. Lou765

Lou765 New Friend

Jul 12, 2010
    I am wondering how low a trumpet plays and sounds decent. I am a newbie and I can play below middle C to a low G/F (Concert) using 1X3 and sometimes get an E but anything else sounds like motor boat noises. I would like to be able to get a D but cant manage one so I am wondering if its a waste of time or if there is hope with a special fingering or gadget I buy from Ron Popeel (inventer of the pocket fisherman)???

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
  3. BackInHanoi

BackInHanoi New Friend

Jul 18, 2010
    I can certainly see him lowering the horn to get the low notes, but would there be any other changes he's likely to be making to his embouchure?

4. AKtrumpet

AKtrumpet Piano User

Jun 4, 2010
    Alaska
    Turning out your lower lip, while not beneficial to your playing, generally will make pedal tones easier to produce. However you should use your normal embouchure to produce the pedal tones if you want the benefits.

The benefit to the use of these notes, in Claude Gordon's words will, if properly used:

- Correct your emboucher.
    - Give you great command of your instrument.
    - Give you more power and fluency.
    - Aid your attack and sureness.
    - Develop better vibration.
    - Bigger sound in ALL registers.
    - Develop endurance.
    ~~
    They also, according to Jon Spaulding, who wrote 'Double High C in 37 Weeks', stimulate blood flow throughout the lips.

5. Lou765

Lou765 New Friend

Jul 12, 2010
    Thanks for the replies and great info.
    The video is the inspriation I needed !!
    Anyone have a finger chart for these lower notes as mine only goes to the F#/E Concert below middle c so that is part of my problem???
    Ok Is this where I am supposed to use a valve slide?? I know nothing about them yet??

Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  6. AKtrumpet

AKtrumpet Piano User