Newbie Question about Piccolo Trumpeting

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by I'mnoMaynardFerguson, Dec 15, 2015.

1. I'mnoMaynardFerguson

I'mnoMaynardFerguson New Friend

Jul 17, 2015
    OKC
    I am kind of a self-taught beginner on the piccolo trumpet. I have seen people playing the fourth valve with their right hand little finger, and others with their left hand index. Is there a reason to choose one over the other? What do you other piccoloers do? Thanks

2. Kujo20

Kujo20 Forte User

Sep 29, 2010
    Simply put: It's a comfort thing. Whatever feels best (and presses the valve down correctly) is what you do.

Kujo

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The valve geometry normally favors the right hand for all valves. In the beginning I experimented with both and ended up using my pinky. Now I have a 3 valve picc and don't need either strategy!

4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    Personally, I believe it becomes easier to use the little finger of the right hand if you've developed a habit of not using the pinky ring with a standard trumpet. Too I find it is easier to play the notes above the staff on a picc than on a standard Bb trumpet. I've even come to like more Va8 played on a picc. I've no aspiration or has there ever been a attempt to emanate Maynard or others up there. IMO it is more an improvisation thing and not much from music written for contemporary trumpet.

5. richtom

richtom Forte User

Dec 7, 2003
    My Yamaha 6810 piccolo is designed for use with the right hand for the 4th valve. To me, it is just second nature to use the right hand.
    Rich T.

6. Clarkvinmazz

Clarkvinmazz Forte User

May 11, 2013
    Oberlin, Ohio
    I didn't really have a choice, the way my piccolo is designed it is very difficult to use the third valve slide AND the fourth valve at the same time with the left hand- so pinky it is!

7. barliman2001

barliman2001 Fortissimo User

Jul 5, 2010