Newbie tone

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Jude, Feb 12, 2008.

1. Jude

Jude Piano User

Dec 2, 2007
    As far as reading music and fingering go, I'm a come-backer, but for sound production, I'm a newbie all over again. But this time I can hear my tone (blessedly, as a 5th grader, I never thought about it).

After almost 4 months of long tones, pedal tones, dynamic exercises, articulation exercises, lip slurs, tunes - at least an hour a day, more often more - I still sound lousy. When my teacher plays, every note starts crisply and is rich, vibrant: alive. My notes sound a little fuzzy, and flat. Tentative. So, teacher's gone to Florida for a month and I can't ask him (again). His usual answer to a question on how to fix anything is "play more" (we're in New England: I'm lucky to get that much out of him). It's hard to play when you're wincing, though.

So is this tone business something that usually corrects itself over time? How much time? (I've got enough sense not to ask him that, but I'd really like some idea - weeks, months, years, never if not by now....). Not everyone who wants to sing has a voice worth it - what about trumpet players?

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    What has your teacher said to you about air, support, and air flow? If he has said nothing then I would ask him. If he does not give you any kind of answer and your still unhappy with your progress, then maybe it's time to find a new teacher. I don't mean to be knocking your teacher, as I am a teacher as well. However, some teachers are better suited for some people and not for some others.

3. misty.sj

misty.sj Forte User

Jan 27, 2008
    Brisbane, Australia
    Are you sure you're not being extra hard on yourself? If you're like me, you're a perfectionist and it's really hard to play "in the moment."

4. Firestas'1

Firestas'1 Piano User

Dec 21, 2006
    New Jersey