Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ai_Dygress, May 29, 2005.

1. Ai_Dygress

Ai_Dygress Pianissimo User

Apr 1, 2005
    IL
    I really hate to ask this.

I have read all the TH forums, and all the TM forums...which I found even more informative. I am actually sad when I check for updates and there are none.

But I have found no real help in a pedagogy type of way for an absolute beginner.

I need serious help. I can't afford a private instructor, unfortunately, I wish I could, but because of college and the like... I have a personal allowance of about 50 bucks a month for anything entertainment. I know that is a horrible thing and I should spend every penny on a private teacher, for most points of view, but alas, a fiance and real life kills that pretty quick. Thankfully she is understanding and I even was able to get an engagement ring out of it.

I would love to have some things to get me on the right track. I am going to sign up for "Smartmusic" here next week, when I get paid, and I could only afford a lowly "Brasswind" student trumpet.

I have already found the downfall of a cheap trumpet. It works for now until I can afford something decent, but dang. I can even tell some thing is up with the horn. It hurts. I can tell a world of difference, and part of me thinks it is the mouthpiece. Especially I read quite a bit about Arban and Gordon.

I need some good advice on starting practice routines, but I trust what you say Mr. Laureano. I know it's kind of daunting to have someone say this, but I haven't had faith in any type of musician since Phil Woods was nice enough to give me a lesson without even telling me who he is.

This is a whole new world and all the information in the world doesn't work without some inspiration, and the people here have really given me that. I just need to know where to start on this new world.

Sorry again for the disruption.

:oops:

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    AD,