Not Fun, Cold sores......

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by A.N.A. Mendez, Oct 28, 2005.

1. A.N.A. Mendez

A.N.A. Mendez Utimate User

Oct 25, 2005
    Sunny Ca.
    What do we do about this? really screws up a practice schedule. Abriva works good but since I'm new to this distraction(past 2 years only) I was wondering if anyone else had any words of wisdom??

2. loudog

loudog Piano User

Jan 4, 2004
    Grand Island, NE
    Are they on your lips or gums? If they are on your gums (or inside of your mouth), rinse with salt water as hot as you can stand. When they pop up for me every now and then, I do this at night before I go to bed, the next morning, and again that night. Usually the morning after, they are practically gone, and don't hurt anymore. Easy solution.

I used to get these often, but hardly at all anymore. I wonder if it's a diet thing, or something in the water, or what that causes these. Strange.

Louie

3. A.N.A. Mendez

Oct 25, 2005
    Sunny Ca.
    right on the lower lip, puts me out for at least a week.

4. music matters

music matters Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2004
    ON Canada
    I get them quite badly occassionaly as well. Usually when I am run down/stressed etc. I use Zovirax, and keep playing, but spend longer warming up gently, and it seems to keep me tied over until it goes away.

5. Alex Yates

Alex Yates Forte User

Aug 11, 2005
    Atlanta, GA
    I say don't play on one at all. Stay away from acidic food and drink and take lots of L-Lysine. (it is safe to take this with Zovirax). Abreva works fairly well also.

6. Kenzo

Kenzo Pianissimo User

Nov 18, 2003
    Bristol, Connecticut
    I used to get cold sores fairly frequently as a kid, less so as I aged. Still, the periodic cold sore can create a tough time for one who pays the mortgage playing the trumpet. So I asked my doctor about some options. Here is what has worked for me.

1. I take L-Lysine daily.
    2. Exercise regularly. Stress is a trigger.