Note/pitch centring issues

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TomThornton, Dec 16, 2015.

1. TomThornton

TomThornton New Friend

Oct 30, 2015
    London, UK
    Greetings,
    I am a student in the UK (in the latter phases of school). Recently I have been having difficulty always finding the centre of a note when I pitch (the problem occurs at the f# on top the staff and above). In general, notes have become rather slippery and malleable in this register. This is not something that was previously a problem, but recently has become an issue. Is this down to my instrument, me, lack of practise time (due to lots of academics) or something else entirely. Any help is appreciated, even if the answer or methodology is glaringly obvious and I haven't asked a very good/clear question feel free to point that out :-P
    Thanks,
    Tom

2. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Better qualified people will answer this more astutely.

But at your age (and I was 17 once) you're not a fully mature player. And your embouchure is still rather plastic and making new adjustments to the demands you place on it. Maybe you're just going through one of those in-between phases as you move from one equilibrium position to another. A bit like when your voice breaks. You sound like Daffy Duck for a while but a few months later you emerge all deep and gravelly.

The only reason I feel confident enough to provide some sort of answer on this is that after 2 years comeback of playing way sharp above the stave, I've suddenly run into a spell of hitting it flat. It may well be a good sign. At least, it's no great cause for panic while I see how things pan out.

3. Clarkvinmazz

Clarkvinmazz Forte User

May 11, 2013
    Oberlin, Ohio
    How's the compression on your horn? I've noticed that that happens on trumpets with more worn valves- try a thicker valve oil, and see if that helps. Hetmans #3 is what you should use.

4. rowuk