Numb Lips

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Dreamer, Sep 5, 2010.

1. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    After 10 weeks of practicing 3 hours a day, my upper lip has developed a numbness that has me concerned.This has made it hard to find my "sweet spot" embouchure, thus I do a lot of hunting. This first started about 2 weeks ago...and no, I do not use much pressure when playing. My practicing is done at very soft levels. Has anyone ever experienced this? I am a new trumpet student.

2. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California
    Not Good.

I'm a beginner but even I know that's a sign of too much pressure.

3. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    Sounds like you are playing too much at one time. Try shorter sessions, say 30 minutes at a time with at least 30 minutes of rest inbetween. Even during the 30 minute session you need to take the mpc off the lips frequently. Remember you're putting a piece of metal against flesh and blood

4. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    Hi trumpet dreamer:
    Please check out Mouthpiece Pressure Assessment

5. SteveRicks

SteveRicks Fortissimo User

Aug 15, 2009
    Alabama
    What is your practice routine like? For every minute or so of direct playing, you ought to be relaxing for at least 30 sec to a minute. I it is stenuous, demanding practice, maybe more. When we say an hour practice, we are talking about maybe 30 minutes of actual sound with rests in between. Also, don't only practice at soft levels. Move the sound up every so often. It is called a "trumpet."

6. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA