Ohhh, what a sound....?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Castle Bravo, Oct 26, 2006.

1. Castle Bravo

Castle Bravo Piano User

Nov 6, 2003
    Scheßlitz, Germany
    Manny -

It has been a while since I've had to play truly 'legit' music. It has been a while since I have had any fundamental intruction. I have been playing mostly jazz for the past 15 years and I am now in a position where I need to do well in an orchestral setting.

I was listening to another trumpet player practice, and was amazed by the quality of his sound. Not only on long notes, but every single note in a fast 16th run sounded big, full, wonderful etc...
    I don't usually have problems being able to reproduce sound tambres that I hear, but this is proving to be difficult. Sustained notes are easier than runs, but my big problem is how to practice.... I'm not even sure I know how to practice correctly anymore.

So, I guess my question is how do you go about 'from scratch' building a big beautiful sound, a sound that is simply part of the way you play, every day??

Thanx a million
    GW

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    gary,

I think one of the quickest ways to do that is to keep the tongue from interfering with the sound and airflow. Approach your articulated studies with a sense that the air is flowing and the tongue is a gentle intermediary, not a hardworking hammer.

Take a breath, and blow out like you're gently blowing out a candle. Now, do the same and quickly,LIGHTLY, and repeatedly take a finger and tap the opening at the lips through which the air is traveling. It should make a "thup,thup" kind of sound. The tongue should work like that. Flicking not pounding.

ML

3. Don Herman

Don Herman New Friend

Jun 18, 2005
    Monument, CO, USA
    With apologies to Manny, a couple of thoughts that hopefully reinforce his: