Oil the valve springs?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by dangeorges, Apr 13, 2012.

1. dangeorges

dangeorges Pianissimo User

Oct 20, 2010
    Hello,
    I'm a trumpet player and teacher -

The other day, one of my students was oiling her valves - she's in 5th grade - and she oiled the springs - not the valve.

I asked her where she learned that (it certainly wasn't from me), and she said her first teacher (a local HS student) told her to oil that way.

Is this actually something people do and learn? I've seen people occasionally do this, but I don't see how it would help anything.

Should I start oiling the valve springs as well as the valve?

Any ideas?

2. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    I have heard on occasion about putting a drop of oil on the valve guides which may have some benefit. However, I would say the valve surface itself should be oiled too (and certainly more frequently).

--bumblebee

3. Dale Proctor

Dale Proctor Utimate User

Jul 20, 2006
    Heart of Dixie
    If the springs contact the cases, some oil (or even better, slide grease) on them will quieten the noise. Otherwise, there's no reason to oil the springs.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  4. Local 357

Local 357 Banned

Jul 1, 2011
    Gravity would always pull the oil downwards anyway.

Me? One a year or so I like to run warm water over the valves and lightly rub some 600grit paper up & down the length of each. Slowly rotating the valves.

Been doing this for 10+ years and no air leaks or sticky valves yet. With this technique I can lubricate less often. Can really save my butt because when running late oiling the valves can be a major delay. A nuisance if ya ask me.

5. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    I will put a drop of oil in the springs about once a month. Just for noise. It will stop the spring noise, other then that no. There is no reason to oil the springs.