Old Trumpets

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bottoms94, Feb 12, 2010.

1. Bottoms94

Bottoms94 New Friend

Dec 14, 2009
    Chesterfield Va.
    To whom that can anwser,

I've been seeing a lot of collection list that contain olds trumpets.
    I have no idea of any of the background of these horns. :-?:dontknow:

If anyone could supply me with some information on these horns it would be greatly appresiated.:D

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Maybe my list is among those that you have seen. You will note that mine are mostly Olds with a smattering of other makes. Olds is probably one of the best documented brands and there are still some people in the area that worked in the Olds factory prior to its closing in 1979. But, even with that, the history of all of the Olds models is still somewhat murky. Many of the other brands have virtually no historical records (records lost, burned, destroyed, etc.). There are various websites dedicated to some of the main brands (links below) and there is a site that has some history and information about many different brands and models. It is:
    Horn-u-copia
    you can browse through a lot of information there. You can also do a search for various brand names right here on this forum and will find quite a bit of information. Here are some of the sites for different brands:
    Olds Central: Olds Central: Information on trumpets and cornets by F. E Olds and Son 1928-1979
    Conn Loyalist:The Conn Loyalist
    Holton Loyalist:Holton Loyalist.com - Dedicated to the Frank Holton & Co.; Makers of High Grade Band Instruments
    York: (some history on Horn-u-copia.net)
    HN White (King):H N White Trumpets: Liberty, Master, 2-B, Super 20, Silver Flair.
    Bach:Dave's Bach Trumpet Page