Olds Ambassador modification

Discussion in 'Vintage Trumpets / Cornets' started by buzzer, Jun 26, 2004.

1. buzzer

buzzer New Friend

Nov 3, 2003
    I have an Ambassador trumpet dated 1952 which the shop at Kanstul will be re-finishing. Dents in bell, typical stuff, cleaning and re-laquering. They did a fantastic job on my '51 Amb. cornet. Question is I heard of some that have had Kanstul build a new tuning slide, making it a bigger (rounder) "D" which apparently opens the horn up considerably. Costs some bucks, but seems worth it. Any thoughts on this?

2. trptbenge

trptbenge Pianissimo User

Jan 15, 2004
    Atlanta
    It would be something to try. It should open the blow. I would keep both slides so you can have a choice.

You should really think about putting a new leadpipe on the horn. My choice would be the Pilczuk leadpipe (excellent results). Rich Ita is the guy to contact on that. His website is:
    http://www.brassinstrumentworkshop.com/
    I have heard people having good results with a Bach 43 leadpipe but the Pilczuk pipe is hard to beat.

I would also consider getting some heavy valve caps and experiment with them (especially on the 3'rd valve). They make a difference in projection and focus as you go into the higher range. I don't like the heavy caps on all three valves because it reduces my flexibility - just the third valve. For relatively little money you can have a really nice playing horn with some modular options to change the way it plays.

Enjoy!

Mike

3. buzzer

buzzer New Friend

Nov 3, 2003
    Thanks for the info, Mike. Will consider all of what you said - been thinking about trying heavy valve caps anyway, and changing the leadpipe - others have also said try the Bach 43 as well. Will be interesting how things turn out.

Al

4. fatpauly

fatpauly Pianissimo User

Nov 11, 2003
    Ellicott City, Maryland
    Life is too short not to do it! How's that for sound reasoning?

- Paul Artola
    Ellicott City, Maryland