On my own...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Johnleopold, Sep 26, 2004.

1. Johnleopold

Johnleopold New Friend

Feb 7, 2004
    Tracy, CA
    Hello... Anyone...

I have an old trumpet that I 've been teaching myself to play and I want to know if any of you are self taught and can you provide any recommendations. I found two video tapes on how to play trumpet at my local music store and the seem to be pretty good but limited on instruction. If I had the extra money I would take lessons but money tight right now. I have a Bundy Selmer thats about 26-27 years old.( ya put it off for a long time)

Long story short... I don't think I'll be an Eddie Harris or Less McCann but some day I'd like to take a shot at playing Cold Duck...

So any tips ? based on my situtation ?

John

2. AndrewWK

AndrewWK Pianissimo User

Sep 9, 2004
    Buy basic Brass bby Bert Truax. It has all the fundamental things that wil help you. SOund, range, and tone. Also work through Arban's(internet has practice scedualling)

Good Luck,
    AndrewWK

3. Johnleopold

Johnleopold New Friend

Feb 7, 2004
    Tracy, CA
    Hey thanks a lot... I'll try that...
    Also... would a keyboard help me to find the right sounds of the notes ?

4. AndrewWK

AndrewWK Pianissimo User

Sep 9, 2004
    Bert, hwom i take lessons from, uses the keyboard for the Jame Stamp buzzing exercieses because those are for slotting the notes on the mp. I suggest buying the cd. it is only $20 bucks and along with the books you will have much to do.

Good luck with everything,
    AndrewWK

5. Johnleopold

Johnleopold New Friend

Feb 7, 2004
    Tracy, CA
    Thanks ... CD it is.. ! --- do you think I could learn Jazz Trumpet ?

6. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    I would say go ahead a try to get at least one lesson with somebody/anybody. Then Record it!