One day your good next you suck

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by daniel025, Nov 8, 2009.

1. daniel025

daniel025 New Friend

Aug 20, 2009
    One day your good at trumpet next day/week you suck

Any one ever have one of those days or weeks when your really good at trumpet ? tone wise, range wise and technical ability wise. then like the next week you try to play something you have played before and really suck at it?
    like your tone and rage disappear ?

well that's happen to me :(

any idea why this is happening to me ?

Ive been playing for 5 years, and get help from a professional trumpet player/music teacher. and read out of Arbans weekly.

recently my teacher told me to work on arpeggios to help improve my upper register. i needed to be able to hit the high E above the staff. I'm only in my second year in high school, and my range typically ends at high B flat. sometimes i can get a high C on goods days. but i haven't been having those lately, i play lead trumpet in my senior jazz band and first trumpet in senior concert band. and i practice every day.

so any idea whats wrong? am i practicing too much ?
    or not enough? i usually go for about an hour a day.

please help :D

Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  2. oohhh yeah

oohhh yeah Pianissimo User

Nov 23, 2008
    B.C. Canada
    My teacher once told me it has something to do with you mood, and its all in your brain or something like that. I find that I play better the later it is in the day, mornings I have trouble even making a sound and at night I can wail up there for as long as I want.

3. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    Sounds like you have not really established the 'norms' in your playing. Sounds like you are playing on luck, and calling the days you get lucky your good days.

4. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    Re: One day your good at trumpet next day/week you suck