Overly sharp B note on King trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Fetuccini, Nov 24, 2010.

1. Fetuccini

Fetuccini New Friend

Nov 22, 2010
    Hi,
    I have a King Tempo 600 trumpet that I've been playing for about 6 months. Before that i learnt to play on a pocket trumpet.
    My problem is that the B note seems really sharp on my King trumpet - I didn't have that problem with my pocket trumpet (which was an unknown Chinese brand).. Also yesterday i went into a music shop and tried another trumpet (a cheap basic one from China) just to compare to mine, and it seems it doesn't have that problem either with the overly sharp B note.
    Could this mean there is something wrong with the pistons of my trumpet? Or is it normal for the King Tempo to sound like this. I know I have the slide to counteract the sharpness, but i would rather not have to use this if possible!

2. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    Good question.:-)

Firstly, the King 600 is a fine trumpet. It did not have any major tuning problems. If you are playing the B sharp, it could be that your original pocket trumpet was flat on this note and you have learned to compensate for this. You then carried that compensation to your KIng 600. Flat B (A=440) is a much more common design fault than a sharp B.

I would ask an experienced played to blindly play your King and you can see if the problem is with the horn or with your playing. If it is with the horn, then it could be caused by dirt or leaks. Do not fixate at this stage on possible details. Clean the trumpet yourself if you have the flexible brushes for it. This will at least remove the dirt. If the problem persists, contact a repairman, especially one who is an experienced player and able to detect for themselves the issue you describe.

If the problem is with your playing of this horn, seek some lessons to help settle your blowing.

3. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User