Physical strain from the trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Haekoth, Jan 25, 2016.

1. Haekoth

Haekoth New Friend

Aug 30, 2015
    Hello everyone,

I came back to playing trumpet after a 8 year hiatus about 4-5 months ago, I've been learning via lessons on the Internet. I thought when my finals ended I'd go get some classes from a teacher, but I've been having problems related to playing and I'm starting to consider if I should keep playing the trumpet. So far it looks extremely physical and really bad for the chops' well being. To compare it with something, I've been messing around with a borrowed tenor sax for about two months and never had an issue with my chops or chin or face pressure.

I've been having, for about a month, pain in the left underchin area. I've read it might be TMJ due to too much pressure, and stopped for about a week, took a couple of antiinflamatories. Started again really softly but after just two 30 minute sessions the pain was there again. I did the same and the same happened two days ago. Is this a normal pain to experience? Or is it probably due to some bad habit I've developed? I always warm up and down and try to not smash the mouthpiece against my face.

Opinions on how much physical strain the average trumpet player undergoes would help me greatly. I'd also like to know how much practice is a good pace. Next semester I'm starting my second college degree with my current one and I will probably only practice in the weekends.

Thank you in advance, and sorry for any grammar mistakes.

PD: I'm playing on a Conn pocket trumpet. I've read they require more pressure to play, could it be a factor?

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Haekoth,

there IS a physical part to playing. The less routine we have, the more that it is necessary. That generally is not associated with pain. Pain is not normal. A tenor sax is not "less" work.