Pianist wanting to learn new instrument to play in an orchestra

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Adrenalyn, Apr 13, 2010.

1. Adrenalyn

Adrenalyn New Friend

Apr 13, 2010
    Hello,
    I am a 17 years old pianist and I have been playing trumpet for the past couple of months. I have started trumpet because I really aspire to soon play in an orchestra (or concert band or jazz band... etc.), and also want to learn a portable instrument that I can play anywhere I go.

The question I am asking myself now is if I should switch over to another instrument like the violin because it might be easier to join an amateur local orchestra (since there are more violinists in an orchestra than trumpets). My question is actually which of the following instruments should I learn in order to learn as fast as possible and to be able to play in an orchestra as soon as possible:
    -Trumpet
    -Sax
    -French Horn
    -Violin
    -Flute
    -Oboe

If any of you know anyone who has learned these as a beginner adult and got into a group/orchestra in a year or two, would you please tell me how and which instrument he learned.

Thank you for your time,
    Samuel

2. keehun

keehun Piano User

Feb 4, 2010
    Minnesota
    So are you wanting to learn a new instrument for the sake of joining an orchestra?

I guess if that is your goal, then trumpet isn't the best bet, since you will have a lot of exposed parts, but I'd say that with any instrument, you really need to take the time to learn it and sound good on that instrument to consider an orchestra, and trumpet might be easier or harder for you than other instruments, depending on who you are and how your body is built...

Sorry I don't have much more to say... I'm still learning, so take this as a grain of salt. I'm interested as to say what the masters have to say on this forum