Picking the horn back up

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by MARKMC, Mar 3, 2005.

1. MARKMC

MARKMC New Friend

Mar 3, 2005
    I studied trumpet from ages 11 to 17, and am now picking it back up at 40. As I cannot afford private lessons at this time, I hope to rely on this forum for answers to some basic "get me going" questions:
    1.In picking the horn back up, I noticed a tendency to center the mouthpiece more on my lower lip, especially in the upper register. I recall that this may have been a problem in my past and I don't want to repeat the same bad habits. Any views on proper mouthpiece placement?
    2. I've heard that one should be able to play the horn with it "laying on a table" (i.e. no pressure) and it seems too much pressure was a problem previously. How important is this and how can I alleviate it?
    3. I've been "buzzing" a mouthpiece to and from work, but don't want to develop any bad habits. Is "buzzing" generally encouraged and is there any thing I should concentrate on?
    4. I learned with and have always used a 7c mouthpiece. I'm curious if another mouthpiece might be better suited for me. Any guidelines or resources regarding mouthpiece selection?

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    First, Mark... WELCOME BACK!
    Second.... You are sure to get more opinions (some might even be contradictory) than you have questions. You'll need to decide which advice to accept and which to reject!
    Now, I'll step aside and let someone like Manny answer your questions. :D

Edit: Darn, I always confuse advice and advise! Maybe "advise" (the verb) should have been spelled "advize"!

Also, you aren't the first person who has asked those questions. Just go to the forums page and click on the "search" function. Enter the search word "comeback" and I'm sure you'll find a lot of this stuff has been debated ad nauseum!

3. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003