Pivot Method?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by soul3n, Jan 19, 2007.

1. soul3n

soul3n New Friend

Apr 1, 2006
    I was reading online about the different kinds of methods to approach the higher range and I came across the pivot method. I want to know more about this method and how to do it. The person who wrote it said that he used the pivot method and didn't even know it because he had an overbite and was able to do it naturally. I have an overbite too and I'm just curious about the pivot method. Lastly, what are some other ways to approach the higher register?

2. 40cal

40cal Forte User

Dec 13, 2005
    Minnesota
    I'm no expert, but methodical practice will assist you in attaining a higher upper register.

When I practice charts in the upper register I will play them as softly as possible as well as the dynamics written.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The pivot method entails "pivoting" the trumpet depending on the octave that you are playing in. The higher that you play, the more you angle the trumpet down. This puts the pressure on the lower lip and frees up the upper lip to vibrate instead of applying more pressure to the upper lip and squeezing the sound off.
    Most players do bring the trumpet down somewhat when playing in the upper register. This is done to compensate for the natural tendency of the trumpets partial series to go flat the higher that you play.
    There have been a couple of companies that have directly adressed this issue, most notably Schilke and Monette. Playing their respective instruments and mouthpieces can eliminate the need for this intonation correction. This does not relieve the player of keeping the mouthpiece pressure down - especially in the higher octave!

4. trpt2345

trpt2345 Mezzo Forte User

May 21, 2006
    Morelia, Mexico